Chakras: Beginner’s Guide to Energy Points for Balance

Live Well Diary Team

This post includes affiliate links. If you click and purchase, I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.  See my full disclosure statement.

chakras - energy points

Thinking of exploring chakras?

Chakras are often identified as energy centres within our bodies crucial to our overall well-being. Understanding and aligning our chakras can bring balance, harmony, and vitality.

This blog post examines the ancient wisdom of chakras, demystifying their significance and exploring practical techniques to activate and balance each energy point.

The Definition of Chakras

Chakras are like energy points that play a role in maintaining balance and promoting wellness by regulating the flow of energy within our bodies. Understanding their significance is crucial in grasping the concept of energy equilibrium and overall well-being.

Derived from ancient Indian spiritual traditions, chakras are believed to be energy centres within the body. Seven main chakras align along the spine, where each point represents different aspects of physical, emotional, and spiritual wellness.

Understanding the concept of energy flow is essential to grasp how chakras work. Just like other physical bodies have systems, like the system, our energetic human bodies also have pathways that allow energy to flow. These pathways, often called meridians or nadis, crisscross with the chakras forming an energy network within our bodies.

When the chakras are balanced and harmonious, energy circulates freely within the body leading to a sense of wellness.

Chakras do become blocked or imbalanced. When they do, they impact our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being and health. It is commonly believed that each chakra is connected to qualities and functions.

Understanding the chakras and their corresponding attributes can help us identify areas needing attention and healing. Balancing and unblocking these energy centres can restore harmony and promote overall wellness in our physical, emotional, and spiritual realms.

The seven main chakras and their significance

Chakras come from the Sanskrit language and are energy centres within the body.

Every chakra is connected to a colour, element and area of the body.

Root Chakra or Muladhara:

The Muladhara is at the end of the spine. It represents our connection to the world. Provides a sense of stability and confidence.

Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana:

The Svadhisthana is in the abdomen. Our emotions, sexuality and creativity are influenced by it. We can tap into this energy centre to wholeheartedly embrace the delights of life and discover happiness through our experiences.

chakras - energy points

Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura:

The Manipura is in the abdomen. It is said that it is a source of power, self-assurance and drive. The Manipura chakra empowers us to control our lives and make decisions.

Heart Chakra or Anahata:

The Anahata can be found at the chest centre. The Anahata is said to be about love, compassion and emotional well-being. This chakra acts as a bridge between our spiritual aspects, promoting harmony and embracing acceptance.

Throat Chakra or Vishuddha:

Situated at the throat, this governs communication, how we see our selves, and the ability to speak our truth. A balanced throat chakra promotes transparent and authentic expression.

Third Eye Chakra or Ajna:

The Ajna is between the eyebrows. It is connected to our intuition, spiritual insight and inner wisdom. This chakra allows us to tap into awareness and expand our understanding.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara):

The Sahasrara can be found at the head point. For individuals, it is often regarded as the connection to something than our physical selves and the immense expanse of the cosmos. When appropriately used, it connects to awakening, enlightenment, and tranquillity.

To attain balance and harmony, is to grasp the importance of each chakra and how it impacts well-being. Working on each energy centre through meditation, visualisation, yoga, and energy healing can align and activate our chakras, leading to a profound sense of holistic wellness.

Techniques for activating and balancing your chakras or energy points

Some methods can assist you in connecting with the energy centres within your body and aligning them properly.

One effective method is meditation. By focusing on each chakra, you can visualise them spinning and radiating vibrant energy.

As you do this, you can also repeat affirmations or mantras that correspond to every chakra, helping to activate and balance them. This practice brings awareness to your chakras and helps remove any blockages or negative energy hindering their flow.

One more method involves utilising crystals and gemstones. Each chakra has a set of stones that tune with its energy. When you position these stones on or close to the chakra, you can tap into their qualities and encourage energy flow.

For instance, individuals often utilise amethyst to harmonise the crown chakra, whereas citrine is commonly linked to the solar plexus chakra.

Breathing exercises can also be effective in activating and balancing your chakras. Deep, mindful breathing can help to cleanse and energise each energy centre. You can focus on inhaling positive, healing energy and exhaling any stagnant or negative energy stored in your chakras. This practice enhances energy flow and promotes a sense of calm and relaxation.

Lastly, incorporating movement and physical activity into your routine can activate and balance your chakras. Engaging in energetic and relaxing activities like yoga, tai chi, or dance can assist in releasing any built-up energy and foster a flow of energy within your body. Certain yoga poses are designed to target and activate different chakras, allowing you to connect with and balance each energy point.


We hope you found our beginner’s guide to understanding chakras helpful in your journey towards balance and wellness.

Chakras are energy centres within our bodies, influencing our physical, emotional and spiritual health. By gaining knowledge about these energy points and their operations, one can delve into practices like meditation, yoga and energy healing to rejuvenate balance and liveliness in life.

Keep in mind that this marks the beginning of a journey that could have the power transform. If you want to understand chakras and broaden your knowledge, keep exploring and seeking more information.

Embrace the potential of chakras allowing their wisdom to lead you on a path of harmony, well-being and personal development.

Images Used

Photo by Cup of Couple:

Photo by Mikhail Nilov:



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *